Although I like to think of myself as a Obligate Carnivore, more specifically an Obligate Filet-Mignon-ivore, I am perfectly willing to be sensitive to guest needs--whether sincere or pretentious. So, since this thread started with "are lobsters suitable for vegans" (um, no, never, haha), perhaps this will be of some assistance when decoding the needs of guests:
Actual "Vegetarian" Variants:
- Vegan: Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. Vegans do not consume red or white meat, fish or fowl. They also do not consume eggs and dairy. Vegans do not use honey or beeswax, gelatin and any other animal by-product ingredients or products. Vegans typically do not use animal products such as silk, leather and wool, as well. These guests will likely be VERY picky-- or VERY poser. When a "sincere" Vegan is present, it may be advisable to avoid the "aroma" of animal products, if possible--so as to spare yourself commentary.
- Lacto Vegetarian: Lacto-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or eggs. However, lacto-vegetarians do consume dairy products such as cheese, milk and yogurt.
- Ovo Vegetarian: Ovo-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or dairy products. However, ovo-vegetarians do consume egg products.
- Lacto-ovo Vegetarian: Lacto-ovo vegetarians do not consume red meat, white meat, fish or fowl. However, lacto-ovo vegetarians do consume dairy products and egg products. This is the most common type of vegetarian.
Not really, but go with it... "Semi-Vegetarian / Flexitarian" Variants:
- Pescatarian (Pescetarian): While technically not a type of vegetarian, these individuals do restrict their meat consumption to fish and seafood only. Pescatarians do not consume red meat, white meat or fowl. This is often considered a “semi-vegetarian” or “flexitarian” diet.
- Pollotarian: Much like the pescatarian, this “semi-vegetarian” diet restricts meat consumption to poultry and fowl only. Pollotarians do not consume red meat or fish and seafood.
- Flexitarian – A plant-based diet with the occasional meat item on the menu. These folks do their best to limit meat intake as much as possible and they have an almost entirely plant-based diet. This is not technically considered a “vegetarian” diet, but "the guest is always right."
.