Calling all Veterans: Help me structure compensation

Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum

Help Support Bed & Breakfast / Short Term Rental Host Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Southern Rosebud

Reaction score
I am new in this business, established a new start-up B&B after fully renovating and restoring a historic property. We are getting rave reviews which is fantastic but we are still in our first year of operations, and as to be expected it is taking time to get to a reasonably full capacity.
So I we are at the point where I need help, and was struggling with how to "structure" a position due to the inconsistent needs of our property. It simply cannot be paid hourly, it just won't work.
The responsibilities of this position include:
--breakfast in the mornings during the week (but maybe not every day every week)
--coordinating the housekeepers/checking rooms, occasional and hands-on housekeeping
--checking in guests/concierge service
So it's a quirky position to fill in terms of scheduling, but I happen to have a perfect candidate. She is a friend of mine who is also my neighbor a few blocks away, and she recently OFFERED to help if I needed it, falling out of the sky like manna from heaven. To top it off, 20 years ago she was my assistant, so I know what she is capable of doing and would be perfect. And it could grow in the future to her having a much larger role as the property's bookings grow.
As an aside, she doesn't really need to work, but wants a reason to get out of the house. (Not that this matters but for what it's worth). I've also just emailed my CPA asking for his accountant perspective.
So here is my question: How do I structure compensation? Per breakfast, per room flipped, per guest checked-in? I thought about a percent of revenues but she's not driving bookings and it's only part time, may not be the best approach.